10/27/13 – 13.1 miles

by jbriggsdnp

2:14:09 was my time today. I knew that the bad training would have a negative effect on my time. On the plus side, my cardio was good for the whole race. It was my legs (my quads, specifically) that gave me fits shortly after mile ten. The last three miles were slow & difficult. After I finished, I skipped the pasta & beer in favor of croissants & Powerade Zero. Even though this is the fourth half marathon that I’ve run, and the third at Fort DeSoto, I still get a little nervous before the race. I didn’t feel that way before the Disney Marathon, probably because: (1) I was with Brian & Bruce, and (2) I didn’t know what I didn’t know, because it was my first marathon. The good people at Florida Road races did an awesome job of putting on today’s race, just like they always do. They are a first class operation. 85 days until the marathon.

Image

